[Date Prev][Date Next]   [Thread Prev][Thread Next]   [Thread Index] [Date Index] [Author Index]

upgrade 7.1->7.3 raid 1 not found



I installed 7.1 with software raid 1 some time ago (15 months?). Set up
software raid 1 using normal 7.1 gui (disk druid?). Did some testing.
Everything has worked great.
I just tried to upgrade the system to redhat 7.3. Unfortunately, the raid
partition is not seen by the installation software. If I tell it to do a
systemupgrade it says that there are no linux partitions to upgrade.

I tried text install, gui install, and hard disk install. No joy. Hard
disk install doesn't make it as far because the installation system can't
find the iso images ... presumably because the md driver isn't running.
Thought 1: problem is caused by partition type being "FD" and not "82" or
"83"

Thought 2: I need a driver disk with the md driver to be able to access
the "linux" partitions inside the "raid/md" partitions. (But it seems
that this shouldn't be necessary since md support is built into the
kernel.)

Any suggestions/ideas?

thanks in advance,
mth


--------------------------------------------------
Miguel Howard                   miguel howards org
c/Peña Primera 11-13 esc dcha 6B
37002 Salamanca
España Spain
--------------------------------------------------
telefono casa 923 27 10 82 movil 650 52 54 58
--------------------------------------------------
To call from the US dial    9:00 am Pacific US   =
home 011 34 923 271 082    12:00 noon Eastern US =
cell 011 34 650 525 458     6:00 pm Spain
--------------------------------------------------






[Date Prev][Date Next]   [Thread Prev][Thread Next]   [Thread Index] [Date Index] [Author Index]