[Date Prev][Date Next]   [Thread Prev][Thread Next]   [Thread Index] [Date Index] [Author Index]

Preference Files In Use (2nd Try)



-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1

Hello psyche-list,

Since sharing my home directory using NFS / automount, I sometimes
find the following message on the X Window screen before Gnome gets
going.

"Your preferences files are currently in use. (If you are logged in to
this same account from another computer, the other login session is
probably using your preferences files.) You can choose to continue,
but be aware that other login sessions may become temporarily
confused. If you are not logged in elsewhere, it should be harmless to
continue." [Cancel] [Continue]

So, who's holding what preferences files open, as opposed to opening
the file only when needed for getting preference information or
updating it with changes? How do I get them to cut it out? What
"confusion" might I see in other login sessions? (So far, I've noticed
none.) Since I *am* logged in elsewhere, am I doing some harm by
continuing?

Am I the first one to try sharing home directories via NFS and
automount? Or, am I doing something remarkably stupid?

Ron.
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: PGP Personal Privacy 6.5.8
Comment: Until recently, the last PGP with full source disclosure.

iQA/AwUBPmkNZ28pw+2/9pUJEQJtDgCg4//5pjBbWcTDCeO7jjq3txO6ebIAniUt
6LEQPHrbaxN10OMpH7J1yKRT
=YwEP
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----





[Date Prev][Date Next]   [Thread Prev][Thread Next]   [Thread Index] [Date Index] [Author Index]