[Linux-cluster] FailOver Domains not working properly

Juan Ramon Martin Blanco robejrm at gmail.com
Tue Feb 3 18:40:05 UTC 2009

On Tue, Feb 3, 2009 at 7:31 PM, Marcos David <marcos.david at efacec.pt> wrote:

> Hi,
> I have a 4 node cluster using RHEL 5.3.
> I have 4 services which I want to spread trough the servers so I can
> have some load-balancing.
> Each server should run one of the services when they are enabled, but
> what is happening is that the services always start on the node from
> which I enabled them.
> My configuration is this:
> FailOverDomain1 -> includes node1 only, unrestricted, unordered
> FailOverDomain2 -> includes node2 only, unrestricted, unordered
> FailOverDomain3 -> includes node3 only, unrestricted, unordered
> FailOverDomain4 -> includes node4 only, unrestricted, unordered
Hi Marcos,

>From the Red Hat documentation:

A failover domain is a named subset of cluster members that are eligible to
run a cluster service in the event of a system failure. A failover domain
can have the following characteristics:


   Unrestricted — Allows you to specify that a subset of members are
   preferred, but that a cluster service assigned to this domain can run on any
   available member.

   Restricted — Allows you to restrict the members that can run a particular
   cluster service. If none of the members in a restricted failover domain are
   available, the cluster service cannot be started (either manually or by the
   cluster software).

   Unordered — When a cluster service is assigned to an unordered failover
   domain, the member on which the cluster service runs is chosen from the
   available failover domain members with no priority ordering.

   Ordered — Allows you to specify a preference order among the members of a
   failover domain. The member at the top of the list is the most preferred,
   followed by the second member in the list, and so on.

By default, failover domains are unrestricted and unordered.

Configure them as restricted



> service1 is allocated to FailOverDomain1
> service2 is allocated to FailOverDomain2
> service3 is allocated to FailOverDomain3
> service4 is allocated to FailOverDomain4
> when I execute:
> clusvcadm -e service1
> clusvcadm -e service2
> clusvcadm -e service3
> clusvcadm -e service4
> all the services start on the same node (the one where I executed the
> above commands)
> Shouldn't they start on the node in their respective failover domain?
> Am I doing something wrong?
> Thanks for the help.
> --
> Linux-cluster mailing list
> Linux-cluster at redhat.com
> https://www.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/linux-cluster
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://listman.redhat.com/archives/linux-cluster/attachments/20090203/ac61690d/attachment.htm>

More information about the Linux-cluster mailing list